Vegans face more restrictions than vegetarians in wine drinking matters. What makes it an issue is the fact that wine is usually refined using animal products like gelatine, which are not vegan-friendly. There are other manufacturers that use egg whites to produce fine wines. However, this doesn’t mean that vegans cannot enjoy a glass of good wine. There are some unrefined alternatives that come with more flavour and a richer texture, which are ideal for vegans. The other big hurdle is matching these wines with vegan dishes. Here is a look at some pointers.
Match Wine Tastes with Food Flavours
When considering wine pairing with vegan dishes, think about the specific texture, colour and taste of the wine. For example, if you are considering tasting a glass of white wine that is not heavy on the flavour like Pinot Grigio or Vermentino, go for pasta, stir-fry veggies and salads as they go well together. These pair well because the wine will not overpower the foods flavours. However, if you are having a barbeque vegetable bugger or baking some potatoes on the grill, white Chardonnay, Riesling or Sauvignon Blanc would go very well with your dish. These wines usually complement the flavour of grilled dishes.
If you love red wines, choose Grenache when cooking vegan burgers with sweet potatoes. A Merlot will go very well with any dish that has olive oil in it or grilled asparagus. When pairing a wine with a vegan dish, the trick is to make sure it doesn’t overpower the food’s flavour. A full-bodied wine will not go well with a simple salad and consequently, no sweet wine will pair with tangy dishes.
La Bourgeois Chardonnay, which is a very versatile and rich wine, can be enjoyed with a simple meal or at a party since it fits in both worlds. This wine can be paired very well with Kung Pao tofu. On the other hand, Cabernet Sauvignon with a blend of Merlot and Shiraz is medium bodied and comes with a long finish. It can be paired with truffled wild mushroom risotto.
Pinot Gris is another delicious wine made from pinot grigio grape and comes with a fuller body. Its flavours include ripe pears and yellow apple, among others. It also has a hint of herbal or floral accents. This wine goes very well with a vegan Caesar salad.
If you are looking to buy a red wine to go with your vegan dish, Wines Direct is the place to visit. They have specific wines for all occasions and offer them at reasonable prices.
How to Tell a Wine is Vegan-Friendly
It might be hard to tell if a wine is vegan or not. Some wines don’t get refined. Others, on the other hand, get refined with a clay ingredient such as bentonite. Unless the wine is labelled unrefined, it will be difficult to know for sure. Also, very few wines include an ingredients list. However, some manufacturers are leading the rest in doing so. These include Ridge, Shinn Estate and Bonny Doon Vineyard. They also produce very quality wines.